Divide and conquer

Soup is one of those things that divides nations. Well, alright, maybe not nations, but certainly folk. Should soup be eaten past March in the UK? Some people say no, it’s summer after all, and we don’t want warm, comforting stodge on a nice breezy evening in the sunshine. Then, of course, when is it ever breezy and sunny of an evening in the UK, ever, let alone past March?

As it stands, I’m a firm believer in soup. It’s marvellous stuff really, and something I really got to grips with when I was living in France, surrounded by alien foods and unusual eating habits. The bonus is that there’s a very simple formula which can be attributed to absolutely any vegetable (I’ve tried with meat to very limited success for some reason, so I now stick to wholey veggie offerings). The equation goes: roast, boil, blend + cheese = fantastic soup. Do this to almost any vegetable, answers on a postcard as to which don’t work, and I can almost guarantee you a delicious soup for dinner.

This one came courtesy of a Twitter post from The Sprouted Kitchen, and it happened to come just at a time when I was really craving some healthy tasting veg on the cheap. I my opinion, tomato soup can be one of two things: a) Heinz red soup or b) real roasted tomatoes with lovely fresh herbs. Both have a place in my heart and stomach (often one and the same) but tonight it was the fresh zinginess afforded to a summer soup that I was after. Thinking of the old summer-soup conundrum, most people offer the suggestion of a chilled soup. Now, I’m not a cold soup fan, simple fact is: don’t like vichyssoise, don’t like gazpacho. But I do think that seasonal veg, prepared correctly, are just as refreshing and light. This used simple roasted tomatoes, onion and garlic, blended with stock. That’s all. Throw in some fresh parsley and basil at the last minute, and top with a giant crouton island (mozzarella sand) and it was just the right density and consistency for a warming, but light, dinner. For this one, by own humble garden, as shown off in the previous post, wasn’t able to provide. It did have Kent-grown garlic, which was delicious, and hopefully I’ll be able to recreate it when I next go home to Kent as the tomatoes and onions will be in full swing down there by then. For now though, the Co-op hasn’t done a bad job.

Leave a Reply

