Impromptu pudding

That’s the thing about pudding, isn’t it? you never really plan it, so you don’t tend to have anything in the fridge ready. Don’t get me wrong, when people come round for dinner, I’m ready – I have chocolate and fruit and cream and meringue concoctions spilling from work surfaces. But on a normal night, it seems that puddings fall by the wayside. So, when TOH thinks that buying some fruit in the weekly shop is a good idea, I know I’m going to have to come up with pudding one evening. One man’s softening fruit in a bowl is another man’s treasure. On-the-turn plums? No worries.

This was a very quick, made up recipe for this evening’s dinner. As usual, TOH had bought a punnet of plums last week which were now starting to look at me suspectly. It was now or never for them, so into the oven they went. All I did was halve them, and then mix some soft brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and a few cloves with some of my raspberry vinegar which I made in the summer. I drizzled this over the plums, and roasted them for about 20 minutes til they were softening but not mushy. they needed basting half way trough, but the sugary, spicy vinegar was getting rich and thick, so it was more scooping than basting, but delicious none the less.

Served with a dollop of greek yoghurt and laced with the sticky syrup, it was the perfect end to the meal. the fruit was soft and warm, but not mushy, the syrup warming, sweet and spicy, counterbalancing the tart yoghurt perfectly. I’ll never recreate it, such is the way with made up recipes, but nevermind!

One thought on “Impromptu pudding

  1. This post made me smile…I ALWAYS plan pudding. I generally have something I’ve made in a tin, a couple of tubs of half eaten homemade ice cream in the freezer, along with a couple of logs of cookie dough and maybe another frozen treat for ’emergencies’. However I also understand I may not be the norm 🙂 And your impromptu pudding looks lovely – I love the combination of slightly sharp yoghurt and syrupy fruit.

Leave a Reply

