Road kill

Rolling along in my automobile … and I’m hungry. This weekend, Kate and I are off to Kent and there’s the old ‘got to leave now before it gets sticky, no time for tea!’ vs ‘let’s eat now, let the traffic flow and then get home late’ debate. Personally, I think it’s a case of damned if you do, damned if you don’t on this one. So, this time, I’m taking a stand!

We’ll leave as soon after work as possible, so maybe 6.30, making an ETA in Kent of about 9.30. Too late for a proper dinner, but driving all that way without a crumb means wandering thoughts (away from the road, God forbid) which is just plain dangerous.

I found this old recipe in a book I made before going to uni, laboriously searching through my Mum’s cookbooks and copying my favourites by hand.

To this day, I’d never tried it so thought it was high time it got an airing. Take action! I tromped to the supermarket and selected my three (it says four, but I just upped the proportions) mix ‘n’ match ingredients, ending up with cranberries, pumpkin seeds and dark chocolate chips. The binding ingredients of sweetened condensed milk and butter seemed slightly contrary to the healthy-sounding nature of a granola bar though …

And. They. Are. Delicious.

Slightly crumblier than a traditional flapjack, but not too healthy tasting (no one likes them too healthy tasting, do they? No joy in that!). I might swap pumpkin seeds for something else next time as they got a bit lost in amongst the oats, but that’s the point, isn’t it? Never the same granola bar twice!

Leave a Reply

